Skip to Main Content

Lower Elementary Library: Awards

Lower School's Yeskey Library home page

Children's Book Awards

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually in January by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

Click here for Medal winners.

The (Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award is given annually in January to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

Click here for Medal winners.

The Irma Black Award goes to an outstanding book for young children - a book in which text and illustrations are inseparable, each enhancing and enlarging on the other to produce a singular whole. The Irma Black Award is unusual in that children are the final judges of the winning book. The Award is usually presented in April.

Click here for Award winning titles.

GCDS 2nd grade students participate in the voting for this Award.